Learn About the Key Importance of Mentorship at November 3 Forum



Fri, Nov 03, 2023
3:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Dining Hall
Building 18, North Campus Research Complex (NCRC)Ann Arbor, MI 48109 (map)

Add to Calendar

All who are involved in or interested in mentoring are invited to the 2023 Mentoring Forum and Mentor Awards Ceremony, which will celebrate mentorship and the 2023 MICHR Distinguished Clinical & Translational Research Mentor Award recipients.  The Mentoring Forum will feature Reshma Jagsi, Lawrence W. Davis Professor and Chair, Department of Radiation Oncology, Emory University School of Medicine.  Dr. Jagsi will present on lessons about the key importance of mentorship and other pearls of wisdom.  Following Dr. Jagsi’s talk, seven faculty members who have contributed enormously to the research environment at U-M will be honored with the 2023 Distinguished Clinical and Translational Research Mentor Award.  The Awardees will share advice they would give to mentees and mentors across career stages, including lessons they have learned over the years.

This event takes place on November 3 at the Dining Hall, Building 18, North Campus Research Complex (NCRC). Dr. Jagsi’s presentation will start at 3:00 p.m., followed by the awards ceremony and a light reception.

The Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research (MICHR) and the Medical School Office of Faculty Development are co-sponsoring this event.  All faculty, staff, postdocs, and students are welcome and encouraged to attend.

Register here for this free event: https://2023mentoring-forum.eventbrite.com.  In-person and virtual attendance will be available.

Download the flyer here.

2023 Distinguished Clinical and Translational Research Mentor Awardees:

Mario L. Fabiilli, PhD, Associate Professor of Radiology, Medical School; Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering and Medical School.

Michael D. Fetters, MD, MPH, MA, Professor of Family Medicine; Director of the Mixed Methods Program; and Director of the Japanese Family Health Program Education and Research, Medical School.

Yvonne J. Huang, MD, ATSF, FAAAAI, Associate Professor of Internal Medicine, Division of Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine; Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology; Faculty Affiliate, Michigan Center for Infectious Disease Threats, Medical School.

Susan Murphy, ScD, OTR, Director, Behavioral Research Innovation and Support Program, Michigan Institute of Clinical and Health Research (MICHR); Professor, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation; Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Rheumatology Division; and Director, Telehealth & Rehabilitation Advancing Chronic Condition Research (TRACC-R) Center, Medical School.

Gretchen A. Piatt, PhD, MPH, Professor and Vice Chair of Learning Health Sciences, Medical School.

Amy E. Rothberg, MD, DABOM, Clinical Professor of Medicine in the Division of Metabolism, Endocrinology and Diabetes, Department of Internal Medicine, Medical School; Professor of Nutritional Sciences, School of Public Health.

Lonnie D. Shea, PhD, Steven A. Goldstein Collegiate Professor of Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering and Medical School; Professor of Chemical Engineering, College of Engineering; and Professor of Surgery, Medical School.